Strengthening links with the University of Piura in Peru

Share this information

María Isabel Alayza, director of outgoing international mobility, visited UIC Barcelona on 16 July. During her visit, she met representatives from different faculties and the department of International Relations to study how to strengthen the existing links between the two universities.

Strengthening links with the University of Piura in Peru

The meeting was attended by representatives from the International Relations service, Isabel Pera, director of the service; Celia Martínez, Global Partnerships and Staff Mobility Manager; and Jorge Carbajal, Senior International Mobility Coordinator. The meeting was also attended by representatives from the Faculty of Economic and Social Sciences: Frederic Marimon, vice-dean and Paula Borandi, international secretary. Both the Faculty of Humanities, represented by Dr Rita Cavallotti, academic mobility coordinator; and the Faculty of Law, with vice-dean Montserrat Gas and Maria Mut, academic mobility coordinator, were also present at the meeting.

All of these UIC Barcelona representatives met Alayza with the aim of promoting existing mobility programmes between the two universities and looking at new ways of working together. The agreement was initially signed in 2003 and since then all three faculties have hosted students from the University of Piura.

The possibility of starting double degree programmes with the Law and Economic and Social Sciences faculties was proposed at the meeting. Moreover, the possibility of humanities students from UIC Barcelona undertaking work placements in Piura was also proposed in areas of interest to the faculty, such as restoration and archaeology. 

The University of Piura was founded in 1969 by its first Great Chancellor, Josepmaria Escrivá de Balaguer, founder of Opus Dei. The University of Piura provides quality education, promotes research and creates professionals capable of transforming society. With campuses in Piura and Lima, the University of Piura has six faculties in total, fourteen academic programmes and a higher technical school.