Webinars in Orthognathic Surgery and Surgical Orthodontics

Type of programme
Specialization courses
between 07-03-2022 and 25-07-2022
€137.50 / ECTS x 4 = €550.00. *Prices corresponding to the 2021-2022 academic year.
From 8.30 p.m. to 10.30 p.m.
Spanish and English
  • Home
  • Program
  • Prerequisites & admissions

The treatment of maxillofacial deformities through orthognathic surgery techniques and orthodontics has undergone a diagnostic and therapeutic evolution in recent years. On the other hand, there are no specific continuous education courses in this subject area in universities. The Surgery and Orthodontics Departments at UIC Barcelona are able to rely on various professionals with experience and know how in this field. UIC Barcelona's Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopeadics Area is recognised as an accredited member of NEBEOP and the Maxillofacial Institute is a European benchmark in the area of orthognathic surgery treatments.


  1. To provide tools for diagnosis, clinical planning and 3D radiology.
  2. To master the essential concepts of the orthodontic handling of surgical cases.
  3. To incorporate the various surgical treatment techniques.
  4. To stress the collaboration process between the orthodontist and surgeon in these treatments.
  5. To provide an update on the latest advances in this field.

Prospective students

  • Maxillofacial Surgery specialists and residents
  • Orthodontics specialists and residents
  • Dentists/odontologists
  • Doctors of Stomatology

Direction and coordination


  • Dr Federico Hernández-Alfaro
  • Dr Andreu Puigdollers
  • Dr Adaia Valls
  • Dr Núria Clusellas


  1. Mastery of the diagnosis and planning processes of surgical cases.
  2. Knowledge of the protocols for handling every clinical situation.
  3. Knowledge of the orthodontic techniques for each of these cases.
  4. Knowledge of surgical techniques in facial skeletal surgery.
  5. Knowledge of procedures on soft tissues.



Programme involving online sessions and weekly webinars. 1-hour lectures and optionally 1-hour discussion with the speaker is allowed.

International speakers will give their session in English and national speakers in Spanish for national editions, but in English for international editions.

The list and order of the speakers for the webinar sessions may vary due to the availability of the speakers.

Surgery Speakers 

  1. Dr. Rafael Alcalde (USA.): “Management of Transverse Problems”.
  2. Dr. Jocelyn Shand (Australia): “The Role of Orthognathic Surgery in Paediatric Patients”.
  3. Dr. Daniel Brusco (Switzerland): Distraction osteogenesis of the maxillofacial skeleton.
  4. Dr. Massimo Robiony (Italy): Use of piezoelectric devices in orthognathic surgery.
  5. Dr. Rodrigo Fariña (Chile): Management of condylar hyperplasia.
  6. Dr. Florencio Monje (Spain): Orthognathic surgery and the temporomandibular joint.
  7. Dr. Benito Ramos (Spain): Orthognathic Surgery in SAHOS patients.
  8. Dr. Derek Steibacher (USA): Fat grafting in orthognathic surgery.
  9. Dra. Alicia Dean (Córdoba, Spain) Navegación en cirugía ortognática

Orthodontic Speakers 

  1. Dr. Javier Prieto (Spain): “Treatment plan for orthognathic surgery”.
  2. Dr. Carlos Flores-Mir (Canada): “Stability”.
  3. Dr. Flavio Uribe (USA.): “Surgery First”.
  4. Dr. Christodoulos P. Laspos (Cyprus): “Orthognatic surgery and cleft patients”.
  5. Dr. Manuel Lagravere Vich (Canadá): analysis to determine three-dimensional skeletal and dental changes in orthodontic and surgical treatments.
  6. Dr. Juan Fernando Aristizabal (Colombia): “Surgery First”.
  7. Dr. Nazan Kucukkeles: “Surgey assisted protraction of maxilla in Class III adolescants”
  8. Dr. Eduardo Messen (Chile): Orthodontic Preparation for Orthognathic Surgery".
  9. Dr. Eduardo Vazquez: “Cirugía ortognática y ATM”.


Study programme and subjects 2021-2022

Subjects in course 1 Type Term ECTS
Webinars in Orthognathic Surgery and Surgical Orthodontics Type: OB Term: Annual ECTS: 4
  • ECTS: European Credit Transfer System
  • Term: calendar period
  • (a): subjects which are taught in English


Dr Federico Hernández-Alfaro, Dr  Adaia Valls, Dr Núria Clusellas, Dr Andreu Puigdollers, Dr Javier Prieto, Dr Carlos Villegas Bateman, Dr Carlos Flores-Mir, Dr Flavio Uribe, Dr Christodoulos P. Laspos, Dr Manuel Lagagere Vich, Dr Juan Fernando Aristizabal, Dr Nazan Kucukkeles, Dr Eduardo Messen, Dr Eduardo Vázquez, Dr Marcos Costa, Dr Marcos Costa, Dr Fernando de la Iglesia, Dr Ana Molina, Dr Oriol Quevedo, Dr Raquel Guijarro, Dr Jorge Masiá, Dr Ramón Sieira, Dr Florencio Monje, Dr Benito Ramos, Dr Alicia Dean, Dr Jocelyn Shand, Dr Massimo Robiony, Dr Rafael Mayor, Dr Gabriele Millesi, Dr Mirco Raffaini, Dr Orion Haas, Dr Rodrigo Fariña, Dr Daniel Sudurdo, and Dr Derek Steibacher.

Prerequisites & admissions

  • To be in possession of an undergraduate/bachelor’s degree in Dentistry or Medicine (specialist area Stomatology).